The Council is headed by the President who is elected at the Annual General meeting for a 3 year term office and can be re-elected for the second term only. He is assisted by the Vice President who is also the Chairperson for the Finance and Administration Committee. All committees of the Council are headed by a member of Council who reports the business of the Committee at the Council meetings.

The current Committees of Council are as follows:

  • Finance and Administration Committee
  • Membership Committee
  • Education and Training Committee
  • Technical Committee
  • Taxation Committee
  • Public Sector Committee
  • Audit and Risk Management Committee

As a requirement for effective self-regulation, the Accountants Act provides for the establishment of independent Committees and Board that carry out oversight functions for the profession. The independent committees are serviced by officers from the standards and regulation directorates who are operate semi autonomously.

The independent committees include the following:

To make the Council more effective, it delegates some of its functions to the secretariat to make the management more effective. This will enable Council focus and policy matters and play its oversight functions more effectively.